Inshallah

I rented a mountain bike and was full of energy. After doing a lot of nothing this is a great way to do some sport and finally leaving the property of the cottages. The sun was burning and I was dealing with the gear trying to get both sides at the same level, which did not work in the end. A scooter was passing and I went as far to the right as I could, we passed each other closely, that was weird I was thinking. After a few seconds I realized, stupid me stupid tourist yes, riding on the bike felt as at home, but the traffic is on the left side of the road here, remember! So I continued on the right side.. the left side it is. It was a beautiful scenery, small houses, children playing, parents sitting in front of their houses, the lake, rice fields, roasters roaring, busy fishermen.. it was all so friendly. After a rest and some water I cycled for about 3 hours and then returned home. Home is where my backpack is for now. Met a lovely man from Vancouver Stuart and a guy who is living in Jakarta from Perth, Simon. That night there was some traditional music and we all had a good chat with our Spanish friends. The next day it was raining Tuesday so I spent some time on the internet using Skype. That was great to finally catch up with some friends and my mom. The next day I have rented a scooter with a French guy Simon. Always loving the French for their accent in English! We went a long way to the other side of the island, to a viewing point. Indonesian people always have a funny way of expressing themselves when it comes down to traffic or travel. The 3 kilometer they implied was in real life about an hour drive. So in the end Simon and I were driving back in rain and darkness. This time I could control the speed and actually I was pretty good at it! It is a huge island and so beautiful. I so much enjoyed my stay here. But it was time to move on. Together with Australian Simon I left the following morning at 07.30 with the ferry. From mainland we had a fast taxi to the airport of Medan. I bought a ticket with a connecting flight from Jakarta to Denpasar (one hour transit time). Simon arranged we could sit in the luxury lounge so we ate and drank some and I notified a friend of my parents that I would arrive around 20.40 at Denpasar. At that time our flight to Jakarta was late, very late. More than half an hour. I said to myself, let’s accept everything as it is and not to worry or as Simon said all day, because you could always expect the unexpected, ‘Inshallah’ , so Inshallah it was. We arrived at 17.45 and my next plane left at 18.00. I walked to the staff on the airport and they told me they would arrange a transit bus for all the transfer passengers. We all had to wait downstairs. There were about 3 guys with walkie talkies. But after 15 minutes of waiting, seeing my plane leaving, they said in a minute, in a minute. Aha, yes yes. After half an hour or so, the bus came to get us. We entered and sat down, after 5 minutes we drove exactly the same way back again, passed the point where we waited and in a few seconds we were on our destination. Speaking about efficiency and Indonesian way of working… again Inshallah. I finally got to the gate and they were surprised, yes yes no the plan left. So get me on the next plane. Then I was sent to the 24 hours service of Lyon Air, and waited for about an hour. That hour I was hungry, tired, angry, feeling alone, wondering where my backpack would be without me, again angry because I paid a lot of money and now I was stuck at Jakarta. One of those moments.. everybody seem to be busy but nobody kept me posted about my status. Finally I was booked for the next flight at 20.40 so I would arrive at Bali at 23.45. It all did not matter as long as I got to Denpasar.. I stayed my first two nights at a friend of my parents house which was beautiful. Bali is very different compared to Sumatra, in so many ways..

About elinexplores

I am Eline Farideh, sometimes I am Eline and most of the time Farideh too . Always writing from both views. ElinExplores and I will FInd Farideh in the meantime. Iranian Dutch. Persian Soul in Dutch Life. Flying down to earth. With love and light. For you.. and I.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Inshallah

  1. koen says:

    Your status=Freedom πŸ˜‰

    x

  2. Sha says:

    Als ik het zo lees dan laat je Indonesie zo dichtbij voelen heh, mooi! Nou ben ik wel benieuwd wat Bali zo anders maakt vergeleken met Sumatra :)?

  3. Anouschka says:

    HEy Schatje! Eindelijk even tijd genomen om je te lezen πŸ™‚ Mijn leven bestaat momenteel uit Zani Zani en Zani – borstvoeding, slapen, luier vies? weer borstvoeding, en ga zo maar door. Het is mooi. Ben sinds paar dagen weer thuis, pap en diana terug naar het ijzig koude Holland en ik probeer een soort van ritme te vinden met m’n lieve kleine meisje. 13 december komt Dino voor een maand en daar kijk ik erg naar uit, denk dat we het leuk gaan hebben met z’n 3-tjes.
    Klinkt lekker daar bij jou! Avontuur Eline! wat cool he, elke keer weer een andere plek en je laat je weg bepalen door de opportunities die op je pad komen. Zo hoort t! En zo kom je de leukste types tegen. Geniet ervan liefie, en be safe! XXx

  4. Swantje says:

    Lieve Eline, van harte gefeliciteerd met je verjaardag en dat je hem met veel liefde, zon, mooie landschap, mooie mensen, mooie herinneringen, mooie gedachten, mooie ideen, mooie plannen mag beleven. We zullen op je prosten vandaag veel liefs en een kus van Swantje en Roland

  5. Alice says:

    Hi stoere backpacker,

    In dit nieuwe jaar wens ik je alle goeds veel love, light, power and a lot of wisdom.
    Leuk om je verhalen te lezen vooral goed voor mij dat het in het Engels is;-)
    Zit je backpack een beetje comfortabel.

    We komen zodra je weer veilig geland bent in het strenge winterland op de thee om te luisteren naar je hoe geweldig je het hebt gehad.

    Liefs Alice en Pj

Leave a Reply

